Divorcees may be eligible to the same kind of premium refund being a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife had a poor driving history and you have continued to cover their old surcharged rates given that they left all your family members permanently, bring this to the immediate attention of your insurance representative. Visit him with all of pertinent and documented information so that your premiums could be reduced immediately while your application trusted source for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for between three to call home years, depending upon state law and individual company policy. A couple of transgressions or a mixture of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially increase your rates, but probably force you to stay with the same company, paying its high premiums, with the hope of not receiving canceled and thrown to the assigned risk pool, where it may be even worse.
For example, suppose you’re a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket during a winter visit Florida so you then slid on the ice in route home, causing $2,000 damage to your car, that you simply reported to your insurance company.
For instance, if you were separated or divorced this past year but forgot which you were still paying a $600 premium based on a two-car family, you’d be eligible for an immediate rate reduction to $250 (according to only your car) and a premium refund of $560. If you had neglected to tell your insurance company for 2 years, choosing entitled to a $780 refund, and so on.
If your insurance provider procrastinates or refuses outright to pay for the refund, a state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will allow you to with a legitimate complaint. Being a last resort, there is a option of using the matter with a small-claims court or to your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, that the clean record today keeps the top rates away, is truer now than ever before. Since the coming of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents show up on your Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even when they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving an organization vehicle at work.